Warning: Parameter 2 to wp_hide_post_Public::query_posts_join() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/customer/www/riverhillstraveler.com/public_html/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 308
Dewey Short & other VIPs say goodbye to the free-flowing White River – River Hills Traveler

Dewey Short & other VIPs say goodbye to the free-flowing White River

Photograph by Townsend Godsey. Congressman Dewey Short and unidentified colleagues look at the White River. On the back is written, “Table Rock dam site 9-14-41.”

Dewey Short appears to be pointing out the location where the long-delayed dam would be built. Only a month earlier the President had signed the Flood Control Act of 1941, which included both Table Rock and Bull Shoals. 

Headline of the October 11, 1952, Kansas City Times, announced: “Start A Big Dam Barbecue And Music At Launching of 76-Million-Dollar Reservoir.” 

Mayor Claude Binkley of Branson remarked he had “hurried to the Ozarks twenty-six years ago” to be here for the construction start.

You need to be logged in to view the rest of the content. Please . Not a Member? Join Us
Leave a Comment