Before the construction of a low run-of-the-river hydroelectric dam on the White River near Forsythe, float fishing was the primary sporting attraction for the Shepherd of the Hills Country.
Lake Taneycomo, which filled in 1913, didn’t eliminate the celebrated Galena-to-Branson float, but it gave Branson and Hollister an advantage over Galena.
The small lake was more compatible with larger, motorized watercraft than the shallow flowing James and White rivers in their native state.
By the mid-1920s the shoreline at Branson was filled with larger motorized tour boats and smaller cruisers.
This real photo postcard, circa 1925, marked “Branson Landing” shows these changes. Motorized tour boats accommodated auto-delivered tourists who came to sightsee, not fish, float or commune with nature.