Arnhold’s Mill was a commercial mill site certainly, but also an early fishing camp/resort on the Niangua River in Camden County not far from Ha Ha Tonka’s springs.

In 1896, J.W. (Joshua Williams) Vincent, editor of the Linn Creek Reveille, published a history of Camden County he had compiled by interviewing early settlers.

In it he stated: “The Arnhold Mill, probably the most noted in the county, was founded in 1833 by a man named Kieth.”

George and Dorotha Arnhold bought what by then was called Cleman Mill in 1878. Its scenic location, abundant game, good fishing and congenial owners attracted sportsmen from across the state. arnholds-mill

Eventually, cabins were built on the nearby hills to accommodate visitors who showed up in season. It was a family-friendly resort as evidenced by the women and child in this photo.

The camping families in this photograph are not identified, but on newspapers.com we found several accounts of visits to Arnhold’s Mill. One story in the May 27, 1915, Index of Hermitage, Mo., could be the caption for this photo:

A party consisting of Dr. A.H. Brookshire and wife, W.D. Harryman and wife, J.W. Powell and Henry Emmett of Wheatland, W.C. Farmer of Collins, J.H. Morgan and family, J.K. Moore and family, J.W. Robertson, Chas. Manuel, C.M. Bentley, S.S. Anderson and Ray Creed of Hermitage, left here Monday for Arnholt’s mill, Camden County, where they will spend a week fishing, hunting, camping out, and having a good time generally.

You need to login to view the rest of the content. Please . Not a Member? Join Us
tel:18003947179